Stranded

Stranded”         Acrylic on canvas    6″x 8″             Whidbey Island

 

On any given day, we don’t know what we will find along our path.

To find this small fish…something in such a state, startled me to pause – look – think – wonder and feel. I don’t know how long it had been there.  I was a quarter mile behind my husband, walking up the beach. He found it first and made some photographs, which I used for reference to make this painting.

Sometimes we get flipped upside down – we ride the wave.

 

I felt compelled to paint this little stranded fish…tossed in the tide, out of control, landed on a rock…in the big universe.

I have sketched this as a vertical and a horizontal composition…and here I finished the vertical painting.  The horizontal will follow sometime soon.

“Stranded” graphite sketch – Whidbey Island series

 

If you have questions or are interested in my work, please let me know.  cappwiley@gmail.com

John’s work: http://www.johnwileyphotography.com

©Teri Capp   All rights reserved

One comment


Leave a Reply

