Conscious inspiration…serendipitous brush

Giraffe in Etosha grazing its favorite - one of many acacia trees

Giraffe in Etosha grazing its favorite – one of many acacia trees

 

Just like an unknown trail or path takes me places that I haven’t seen before; where my footprints step – (hopefully lightly left behind) – into newly discovered terrain. So it goes in my studio. ~ Ha! ~ I have found myself painting giraffe and other four and two-legged creatures! Who would have thought? I have not typically been a painter of animals but after our time spent in Namibia, I knew that they would find their way into some of my artwork. (One special client did drop a strong hint about the possibility of a painting of giraffe).

The animals that we saw were such a part of our story. Though challenging, I did quick sketches of a variety while we were traveling and now back in my studio, I’ve blended my sketches, photographs and memories of the place and its creatures into paintings. After all…they are just shapes, patterns, clumps of light and dark…areas of negative and positive space…to be figured out on a two-dimensional surface. This is one from my Namibian Portfolio project.

Detail of 12"x 16" "Giraffe in Etosha's bush" painting

Detail of 12″x 16″ “Giraffe in Etosha’s bush” painting

 

To drive the white gravel roads of Etosha National Park in the afternoon ~ ahead of us, a curve in the road ~ I turn, startled to see, all of a sudden, not just the one or two giraffe grazing at acacia trees close to the road ~ but five…six…seven, scattered back into the bush! How can such a tall animal (the tallest animal), seemingly just appear in the scrubby bush?

I never tired of seeing them…lanky, graceful, shy and curious…larger than life.

 

"Giraffe in Etosha bush" acrylic on cradled panel on my easel

“Giraffe in Etosha’s bush” acrylic on 12″x 16″cradled panel, on my easel

 

 

 

Detail of 12"x 16" "Giraffe in  Etosha bush" painting

Detail of 12″x 16″ “Giraffe in Etosha’s bush” painting

 

Like a group of cows is called a “herd” ~ the collective noun for this species is a “journey of giraffes.” I loved learning that bit of trivia.

I have been painting elephants, oryx and ostrich too. Wow! ~ who knew where my brush and paints would lead me?

 

Let me know if you have questions or comments.

e-mail: cappwiley@gmail.com                   Follow me on Facebook

 

©Teri Capp – all rights reserved

 

 

Leave a Reply

