“Eyes wide open always hoping for the sun”

"Makoros" dugout canoes made by the Mbunza, a Kavango river clan. Acrylic painting on cradled panel, SOLD

“Makoros” dugout canoes made by the Mbunza, a Kavango river clan. Acrylic painting on cradled panel, Pre-sold

 

Sometimes I feel like my life is lived like a candle ~ well, rather more like a tealight. For a while I’m burning strong – ideas flow – studio work and painting flows…full of energy. Life chores get done, words come readily, optimism reigns.

Then I weaken a bit; my ideas can get muddled – I feel overwhelmed and unsure about what to tackle. My flame fizzles – sometimes it goes out….temporarily.

These stretches can feel a little dismal ~ like a string of gray days that drop from the sky – hit me at eyebrow level and won’t lift. Fog, low energy…what next?       One remedy that works for me is to cook something ~ with ingredients ~ and a recipe ~ used as a guide. The recent favorite was the lovely comforting dish, Smothered Onions with Pasta, from Marcella Hazen’s Essential Italian Classics cookbook, my copy, full of notes…given to me by a dear friend years ago.  It’s not difficult, but it takes time. Hands on – physical – there is decisive preparation required ~ thoughtfulness and creativity allowed ~ and a satisfying result…to share and eat with my family. Energy put forth – energy shared. Release.

Human nature is a funny, strange animal. Intellectually, I understand that my path is mostly about process – but I also have a need to say” it’s finished.” To have momentary success or to complete a project grounds me. I can’t just float in a constant state of process.

Working~more to come~Namibia portfolio

Working~more to come~Namibia portfolio

 

Nam Portfolio progress_sketch_web_ready_Feb2016-2

elephant sketch-Reitfontein waterhole

 

 

Faced with a sense of dual reality ~ a strange result is to feel some success in what I’m trying to do. I’m happy with my finished painting, but a day or two later, I find myself at the beginning again. One may be “finished,” another well on the way…I’m beginning to get there, only to find the end is the beginning. It is constant discovery.

sketches-photographs-painting on panel

sketches-photographs-painting on panel

Elephant~Reitfonein pan reflection. Acrylic on cradled panel, Pre-sold

Elephant~Reitfonein pan reflection. Acrylic on cradled panel, Pre-sold

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Oryx and giraffes~Etosha National Park. Acrylic on cradled panel, Pre-sold

Oryx and giraffes~Etosha National Park. Acrylic on cradled panel, Pre-sold

 

So, yes, work is getting done…lots of work.

“Eyes wide open always hoping for the sun.”  (Norah Jones)

 

I’m still on the journey of painting for my Namibian Portfolio project. Thanks to those supporters that joined the project last June, (I’m actively looking for the exhibit space and working hard to finish your paintings !) and thanks to those who are interested and reading now.

 

Let me know if you are interested in my work or have comments or questions.

e-mail: cappwiley@gmail.com                                 Tel: 206.329.4750                                   Follow me on Facebook

 

5 comments

  1. Loving your creations! Hardest part will be trying to choose for someone else… Curious about the story behind the purple & blue image below…

    Like

  2. In the 4th insert down “sketches-photographs-painting on panel” there’s a photograph? on the right, a few people, trees, perhaps a smoke from a fire?….

    Like

  3. Yes, one of several reference photos of intentional brush fires that we encountered on the sides of the roads as we traveled. Just finished a painting of some of that atmosphere too!! That particular photo has John out walking with his camera…we engaged with some of the local people there.

    Like

  4. ahhh! It was such a different color palette from another road/fire image, and the rest of the collection it caught my eye.
    Thanks! No pressure, but can’t wait to see everything… It’s been so fun & generous of you to share your journey in Africa and home.

    Like


Leave a Reply

