Catching a moment

When I paint, I’m trying to capture the essence of a place. But this is even more true when I do a sketch. It is probably more about capturing a moment, in a place, because things are always changing…the light, the weather, the seasons, my mood, where I stand or sit. These are sketches from moments… that I wanted to record, from travels around the Pacific northwest. My sketches often have a looseness and energy that I’m constantly trying to practice when I put a brush into paint and onto a canvas.

Leave a Reply

